Nelson Golf Club, Lancashire. (1903 - 1916)

The club was founded in 1903.

 Originally a 9-hole course at Kibble Bank. It moved to an 18-hole site at Marsden Heights in 1917.

Following is an extract from a report that appeared in the Burnley Gazette on 2nd May 1903.

"The club has now been formed and suitable links and clubhouse have been secured on favourable terms at Kibble Bank Farm, Marsden Heights. The links are within ten minutes' walk from the tram at Reedley, and twenty minutes's walk fron the centre of Nelson by the old road. The course is ready for play. For the first 100 members the entrance fee is £1/1s, and theyearly subscription £1/1s, the yearly subsciption for is 10/6 without entrance fee. Applications for membership accompanied by cheque to cover entrance fee and subs will be received by the hon. secretary,  Frank Roberts, Station Buildings, Railway Street, Nelson. The President of the club is Samuel Davies and the Professional and Groundsman, Mr B Lane."

The course was laid out by George Low of the St Anne's Golf Club.

In December 1903 a pavilion was erected.

In April 1904 a match was played at Colne Golf Club. The home team won the match by 7 matches to 6. 

In September 1904 Harry Dickinson (6) and Frank Roberts (21) played in the final for the cup presented by the captain, J T Landless. After a close match Frank Roberts won by 2up.

In November 1904 the competition for the silver rose bowl, presented to the club by Mr A E Wilkinson, resulted in a tie between W W Moorhouse and S Davies.

In the 1905 Nisbet's Golf Yearbook the secretary was H Procter; captain, J T Landless; professional, B Lane; membership of 125; visitors' fees, 1/- a day and 2/6 a week.

In May 1905 the final for the cup presented by the president, S Davies, J T Landless won with net 76, runner-up was W W Moorhouse. 

The annual meeting held in May 1905.


Nelson Golf Club, Lancashire. Report on the annual meeting in May 1905.

Burnley Gazette Saturday 27th May 1905. Image © THE BRITISH LIBRARY BOARD. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.


A silver cup presented by Mr J Jackson and Mr Willis Cuttell was played in October 1905. The winner was J Bracewell and the runner-up J Wooliscroft.

Result of the June 1906 monthly medal; George Shaw, 84-16-68.

Result of a match played at Nelson against Colne Golf Club in June 1906.

Nelson Golf Club   Colne Golf Club  
W W Moorhouse 1 W Thompson 0
W M Landless 1 W Sagar 0
A Nutter 0 A W Crabtree 1
T Roberts 0 R S Pilling 1
F Roberts (halved) 0 R Foulds (halved) 0
G Shaw 0 H Hewitt 1
A Roberts 0 J Bracewell 1
J T Dent 1 T Shaw 0
H Coppock 1 W H Cass 0
L Reed 1 F Hoyle 0
J Wooliscroft 1 H Ormerod 0
C Roberts 1 H Holgate 0
  7   4

Competition played in October 1906.


Nelson Golf Club, Lancashire. Result of a competition played in October 1906.

Burnley Express Wednesday 24th October 1906. Image © THE BRITISH LIBRARY BOARD. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.


The annual meeting was held in May 1908, J T Dent presided. The following officers were elected; President, George Shaw; captain, F Roberts; hon. treasurer, S Roberts; hon. secretary, C Woodward, J.P.

The new clubhouse was opened by the retiring president, Charles Walton, in May 1908. 

In August 1909 R Burgess beat C Roberts by 5 and 4 in the final of the president, Alderman Nelson's, prize.

The final was played for the captain's, Dr Ritchie, cup in October 1909. The final was contested between brothers Tom and Frank Roberts, the former winning by 3 and 2.

The spring competition for a handsome silver bowl given by Dr. Wilson was played in May 1912. The winner was F Gaukroger with a score of 92-14-78; George E Stuttard and Harold Woodward, runners-up net 80.

The eleventh annual meeting was held at the Station Hotel in April 1913, R Baldwin in the chair. The following officers were elected; President, James Ridehalgh; captain, A A Bracewell; hon. treasurer, Mr Smith Roberts; hon. secretary, C Woodward.

The annual competition for the East Lancashire Golf Association took place on the Nelson course on Saturday 21st June 1913. It was the first time in the history of the club that this competition had been played at Nelson. Ten clubs competed for the shield and the play was followed by an enthusiastic crowd. Play was twice round the nine-hole course. To the strangers the fourth hole, which was placed in a very difficult position, often proved very tricky, but the ninth hole was the greatest test, the green was placed behind a hillock, on sloping ground. Some very good putting was witnessed and near misses were often caused by lack of knowledge of the testing greens. At the close of play J Ridehalgh, the president of the Nelson Golf Club, presented the prizes. The winners of the shield were Pleasington Golf Club, the individual prize was won by H J Ainsworth, Accrington Golf Club, with a score of 77.

The final for the cup presented by the captain, A Heap, was played in October 1915; W Rycroft beat J T Dent by 3up.

Announcement of the new course in April 1916.


Nelson Golf Club, Lancashire. Announcement of the new course in April 1916.

From the Burnley News Saturday 15th April 1916. Image © Johnston Press plc. Image created courtesy of THE BRITISH LIBRARY BOARD.


The club moved to an 18-hole site at Marsden Heights in 1917.


Nelson Golf Club, Lancashire. Location of the earlier golf course.

Map showing the location of the Kibble Bank course.

Grid reference SD85660,35760, co-ordinates 385660,435760.